1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Scottish Saltire

Katherine Campbell - Robert Burns: Tune Unknown

Katherine Campbell - Robert Burns: Tune Unknown


Format: CD

EAN / ISBN: 880992150941

Information on delivery charges and times

Price: 10.99

RRP 11.99 - you save 8%

Availability: IN STOCK

In this special release for Burns Day 2019, Burns expert Katherine Campbell brings together 10 songs from the Bard for which the original tune is unknown. Sometimes this is because the music has been lost, e.g. the tune entitled ‘The Banks of Cree’, or sometimes it is because we don’t know what the original tune actually was. In one unusual case, ‘O Raging Fortune’s Withering Blast’, Burns composed his own melody which is unfortunately not extant.

Burns’s usual method of song composition was to start with a pre-existing melody, often drawn from the Scottish song or fiddle repertoire, and then to write lyrics to it. In the case of this CD, this process has been reversed, as the starting point has been Burns’s beautifully-crafted words, which often relate to his own personal experience.

1. In Tarbolton, Ye Ken
2. Wi' Braw New Branks in Meikle Pride
3. O, Raging Fortune's Withering Blasts
4. Now Spring Has Clad the Grove in Green
5. If Ye Gae Up to Yon Hill-Tap
6. Her Flowing Locks, the Raven's Wing
7. Here is the Glen and Here is the Bower
8. As I( Gaed Up By Yon Gate-End
9. The Cares o' Love
10. The Night Was Still

Release Year: 2018


10% delivery discount adjustment when you order 2 or more products from Product Group BCD

Listen to samples or buy MP3 album

Recently Viewed