1. Home
  2. Login
  3. View Cart
  4. Checkout

Scottish Saltire

Christine Kydd - Shift and Change

Christine Kydd - Shift and Change

Ref: CDTRAX401

Format: CD

EAN / ISBN: 5018081040124

Information on delivery charges and times

Price: 11.65

RRP 12.99 - you save 10%

Availability: IN STOCK


In the meantime you may be able to purchase the item using the link below.

Christine Kydd is one of Scotland's leading, award-winning singers and recording artistes. With eclectic tastes, she is best known for her treatment of traditional and contemporary songs. Christine has toured, broadcast and recorded extensively both solo and on a number of projects to produce some of the country's finest and often award-winning sounds, including singing with Janet Russell, Chantan, Calluna and Sinsheen. A highly regarded educator, theatre performer and vocal coach, she graduated with a Master's degree in Ethnology and Folklore in 2014 at Aberdeen University. In 2018 Christine was nominated for 'Scots Singer of The Year' in the Scots Trad Awards and also for Community Project of the Year (Ceilidhmakers). Christine was also inducted into the 'Traditional Music Hall of Fame For Services to Performance' in 2018 .

This collection includes traditional songs (The Back o' Reres Hill and Braes o' Balquhidder), contemporary items by esteemed writers: Alison McMorland (The Rue and Thyme), Michael Marra (Just Another Rolling Stone), Alistair Hulett (Blue Murder) and Violet Jacob/Jim Reid (The Wild Geese and Halloween), plus songs written by Christine herself (This is The News, Comin' on Strong and Shift and Change). Christine has also compiled a Trilogy For Peace consisting of: The Waters of The World by Penny Stone, All Shall Be Well by Julian of Norwich/Bid Cousins and Peace Round by Jean Ritchie.

The session musicians are: Gillian Frame (fiddle and backing vocals); Andy Shanks (octave mandolin and backing vocals); Fraser Speirs (harmonica), Innes Watson (guitar) and Angus Lyon (piano and Wurlitzer). Angus also recorded the album. The front cover painting 'Coming Into Port' is by Scottish artist Kate Downie. who interestingly often paints as she listens to Christine's music. Design by John Slavin of Designfolk.

1. Just Another Rolling Stone
2. Blue Murder
3. The Back O' Reres Hill
4. The Rue And The Thyme
5. This Is The News
6. The Willd Geese/Norland Wind
7. Coming On Strong
8. Braes O' Balquihidder
9. Halloween
10. Triology For Peace
11. Shift And Change

Release Year: 2019

Recently Viewed